Users | Updating a user's status

1) Explanation of terms
2) Deactivating a user
3) Activating a user
4) Terminating a user
5) Set a termination date in the past

 


🔍 RELATED ARTICLES

User import | Standard file format


 

1) User Status

All users in Easy Employer must have a status assigned to them. The three status types are: Active, Inactive or Terminated. Each status is different an will have an effect on how the system handles a user's account:

  • Active - Active users appear on the roster and timesheet if assigned to roles.
  • Inactive - Inactive users do not appear on the roster or timesheet (if the user is deactivated during a period, they will remain to the end of the roster or timesheet period, whichever is latest). When a user is deactivated, they retain their permissions and online access.
  • Terminated - Terminated users do not show on the roster or timesheet (if the user is terminated during a period, they will remain to the end of the roster or timesheet period, whichever is latest). When a user is terminated, their permissions and online access are removed. As a result, the user can no longer be able to access their online account.

 


NOTE: Communications can still go to a terminated user. e.g. if you send a notice and select that user or you delete roster shifts for that user, or approve/decline a leave request. These actions still have the option to communicate this to the user. The only way to guarantee an email/SMS is not sent to a user is to remove their email and mobile number.


 

The User Status function is used to remove or reinstate an employee's access to Easy Employer. This can prevent employees from appearing in specific system locations (such as abilities, rosters, timesheets). This feature is typically used when an employee won't be working for an extended period of time; for instance, an employee going overseas for 3 months that would continue working upon their return (for which the employee's status could be changed to inactive until they return), or no longer works for the organisation.

 

 

2) Deactivating a user

The first three steps are common to the two different methods you can use to deactivate a user.

  1. Click Organisation.
    navbar_org.png
  2. Click Users.
    org_users.png
  3. Active users will be shown by default.
    usrs_actv.png

 

i) Deactivating a user through main users page

  1. Take the mouse cursor to the right side of the Status column and click the three dots icon at the end of the row of the user you are deactivating.
  2. Select Deactivate.
    usrs_dots_menu_deactv.png
  3. Click De-activate on the confirmation dialogue.
    usrs_deact_conf-deact.png
  4. If the user has roster template or future roster shifts, the following dialogue will be displayed:
    usrs_deact_conf.png
    • Unassign - the user is unassigned from the roster template and future roster shifts will be converted to Unassigned shifts.
    • Delete - roster template and future roster shifts will be deleted and not converted to unassigned shifts.
    • Cancel - user deactivation will be cancelled.
  5. Select either Unassign or Delete.
    • The users status will now be Inactive and they will not show on rosters, timesheets, etc. from the next period.

 

ii) Deactivating a user through individual user page

  1. Click on a specific user.
    usrs_actv.png
  2. Select Settings on the sidebar and click Deactivate.
    usrs_sett_deact.png
  3. Click De-activate on the confirmation dialogue.
    usrs_deact_conf-deact.png
  4. If the user has roster template or future roster shifts, the following dialogue will be displayed:
    usrs_deact_conf.png
    • Unassign - the user is unassigned from roster template and future roster shifts will be converted to Unassigned shifts
    • Delete - roster template and future roster shifts will be deleted and not converted to unassigned shifts
    • Cancel - cancels deactivating the user

The users status will now be Inactive and they will not appear on rosters, timesheets, etc. from the next period.

 

 

3) Activating a user

The first three steps are common to the two different methods you can use to activate a user.

  1. Click Organisation.
    navbar_org.png
  2. Click Users.
    org_users.png
  3. Active users will be shown by default.
    usrs_actv.png

 

i) Activating a user through main users page

  1. Un-check Active and check Inactive and Terminated to display all inactive and terminated users as shown in the following picture.
    usrs_inactv.png
  2. Take the mouse cursor to the right side of the status column and click on the three dots icon on the row of the user you are activating and select Activate.
    usrs_inactv_act.png

The users status will now be changed to Active and they will appear on rosters, timesheets, etc.

 

ii) Activating a user through individual user page.

  1. Un-check Active and check Inactive and Terminated to display all inactive and terminated users as shown in the following picture. Click on the name of the user you want to make active.
    usrs_inactv.png
  2. Select Settings on the sidebar and click Activate.
    usrs_sett_actv.png

The users status will be changed to Active and they will appear on rosters, timesheets, etc.

 

4) Terminating a user

The first three steps are common to the two different methods you can use to deactivate a user.

  1. Click Organisation.
    navbar_org.png
  2. Click Users.
    org_users.png
  3. Active users will be shown by default.
    usrs_actv.png
  4. Take the mouse cursor to the right side of the Status column and click the three dots icon at the end of the row of the user you are terminating.
  5. Select Terminate.
    usrs_termt.png
  6. In this popup box a date needs to be selected. Clicking Terminate immediately will use the current date as the termination date. Selecting a date in the future will postpone the termination of the user until the selected date. This means the user will still appear in Easy Employer as normal until the termination date occurs. A termination date for the past cannot be selected at this stage.
    usrs_termt_date.png
  7. If the user has roster template or future roster shifts, the following dialogue will be displayed:
    usrs_termt_conf.png
    • Unassign - roster template and future roster shifts will be converted to Unassigned shifts.
    • Delete - roster template and future roster shifts will be deleted and not converted to unassigned shifts.
    • Cancel - cancels the termination of the user.

The users status will be changed to Terminated and they will not show on the rosters, timesheets, etc. from the next period.

 


NOTE: There is no front-end way to bulk terminate users.

You can still bulk terminate users using the  Import / Export > Import / Update Users feature, by uploading a flat file based on the "Easy Employer Standard Format" (refer to the User import | Standard file format guide).

Populate this file, ensuring you include the "User ID" as the unique identifier together with the employee's name, email and mobile (you can get an employee export from the user details report), then input a termination date, which will terminate the employee immediately, and set the "User was terminated on" date to what is provided.

We recommend you test this in the sandbox account first, and check the result of this before doing this in your production environment. 


 

5) Set a termination date in the past

  1. Click Organisation.
    navbar_org.png
  2. Click Users.
    org_users.png
  3. Use the display toggles to locate the terminated user and select it.
    usrs_termtd.png
  4. Select Settings on the sidebar. Two termination dates are displayed on this page:
    usrs_termtd_dates.png
    • Effective termination date - the date Easy Employer uses as the termination date. From this date onwards the user does not appear in rosters, timesheets, etc.
    • User was terminated on - this date can be backdated to show that the user was terminated prior to the effective termination date.
  5. To change a users termination date, click on the calendar for the User was terminated on setting, select a date, and then click the Save button that appears next to the date.
    usrs_termtd_date_chg.png
Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk