Roster - hide roster shift end time

This article includes the following topics:

  • How to configure hiding end of shift
  • Setting the Default Organisation Rule
  • Setting the Rule for the Specific User
  • Setting a Shift to not Show end Times
  • Setting a Shift to Show end Times

When would this feature be used

This feature is useful in situations where the end time of a shift is not known. The end time of the roster shift is replaced with TBA in roster communications and also the users' online roster. 

Why would this feature be used

This feature would be used to hide the end time of a shift from an employee. You still need to specify an end time for a roster shift, but the employee won't see the end time. 

This setting is applied on each individual shift. If you assign a shift from one person to another, and you want to display end times on the shift, make sure you tick hide end times before assigning it to the new employee.

This also applies to common shifts. If the common shift is set to show end times, and you assign it to an employee you want to hide end times, make sure you edit the shift and tick hide end times before applying. 

How to Configure hiding end of shift

Setting the Default Organisation Rule

Setting this rule applies this value to all users who do not have an overridden value. 

1. Go to the Organisation tab on the top of the page

2. Click on Organisation on the right hand side to manage organisation

3. Click on Rules 

4. Click on Roster Rules

5. Scroll Down to the Other

6. Click on Edit, next to Hide Shift End Time

7. Check the box if you want to hide end times by default. Uncheck this box if you do want to show end times by default

8. A screen will be shown to apply this value to existing shifts:

9. Click Yes to apply it to existing shifts.  Click NO to not apply the value to existing shifts

10. When a shift is created, and the user doesn't have an overridden value, the value you have chose above will be applied to the shift.

 

Setting the rule for a specific user

Setting this rule applies it to the user only

1. Click on Organisation tab on the top of the page.

2. Click on Users on the left side to manage users

3. Select the user you want to change the settings

4. Click on Rules 

5. Click on Roster Rules

6. Scroll Down to the Other

7. Click on Edit, next to Hide Shift End Time

8. Check the box if you want to hide end times by default. Uncheck this box if you do want to show end times by default

9. A screen will be shown to apply this value to existing shifts:

10. Click Yes to apply it to existing shifts.  Click NO to not apply the value to existing shifts

11. When creating a shift for a user, the default selected above will be applied.

 

Setting a shift to not show end times

1. Click on the shift you want to hide the end time for

2.  Click on the edit shift button 

3. Check the box next to Hide end times

4.  Click update

 

Setting a shift to show end times

1. Click on the shift you want to hide the end time for

2. Click on the edit shift button 

3. Uncheck the box next to Hide end times

4. Click update

Example of how it looks

Email Communication

An example of an email communication of shifts is below:

Hi Kelly,

Your unconfirmed rostered shifts for City:

#GroupShiftBreak LengthMessage

0 Dispensary Mon 28/11 1-6PM 30 minutes  
1 Dispensary Wed 20/11 8AM-TBA 30 minutes  
2 Dispensary Thu 01/12 8AM-TBA 30 minutes  

To confirm the shifts, reply with "y".

Regards,
The easyemployer Team

The shift on Wednesday and Thursday had the shift end times hidden. The system has put TBA instead of the end time. 

SMS Communication

An example of a SMS communication of shifts is below:

Your unconfirmed shifts for City:

1: Dspn Mon 28/11 1-6PM

2: Dspn Wed 30/11 8AM-TBA

3: Dspn Thu 01/12 8AM-TBA

Reply "y" to confirm

The shift on Wednesday and Thursday had the shift end times hidden. The system has put TBA instead of the end time.

The to do list

The shifts have their end times hidden. The system has put TBA instead of the end time.

My Roster

The shifts have their end times hidden. The system has put TBA instead of the end time.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk